
 
       Larry Hogan, Governor • Boyd Rutherford, Lt. Governor • Robert Neall, Secretary 

 

 

849 International Drive, Suite 450, Linthicum, Maryland 21090 

Phone: 410-487-8100 • Fax: 443-681-1033 

Website: www.mmcc.maryland.gov 

Proposal: 

10.62.08 Medical Cannabis Grower License  

.04 Consent for Investigation. 

A. An individual who is required to provide personal and background information 

under this chapter shall provide a statement that irrevocably gives consent to the 

Commission and persons authorized by the Commission to: 

 (1) Verify all information provided in the application documents; and 

 (2) Conduct a background investigation of the individual. 

B. An applicant shall waive any contractual, statutory, or common law obligation of 

confidentiality and authorize any government agency in any jurisdiction to release 

to and provide access to the Commission of any and all information the applicant 

has provided to any other jurisdiction while seeking a cannabis-related license in 

that other jurisdiction, as well as the information obtained by that other jurisdiction 

during the course of any investigation it may have conducted regarding the 

applicant. 

C. An applicant shall release all financial institutions, fiduciaries, and other parties 

from any contractual, statutory or common law obligation of confidentiality to 

provide financial, personal and background information to the Commission relevant 

to the applicant’s capacity to manage a licensed growing facility [and the applicant’s 

good moral character]. 

.06 Pre-Approval of Application. 

A. Limitation on Number of Licenses. 

 (1) The Commission may issue pre-approval of up to 15 licenses: 

  (a) Until May 31, 2018, in accordance with Health General Article, 

§13-3306(a)(2), Annotated Code of Maryland; and 

  (b) In consideration of the ranking of the applications in accordance 

with Regulation .05 of this chapter. 

 (2) Beginning June 1, 2018, the Commission may issue the number of pre-

approvals of a license necessary to meet the demand for medical cannabis by 

qualifying patients in an affordable, accessible, secure and efficient manner. 
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B. If there are more qualified applications than the number of licenses available and 

there is a numerical tie for the last license to be issued, the license shall be 

determined by public lottery. 

C. The Commission may deny issuing a pre-approval of a license if, [for] any 

individual identified in the application specified in Regulation .02B(1) of this 

chapter: 

 (1) [The criminal history record information or any other evidence that 

demonstrates an absence of good moral character; or] Is convicted of or pleads nolo 

contendere to a crime involving moral turpitude, whether or not any appeal or other 

proceeding is pending to have the conviction or plea set aside; 

 (2) [The] Has payment of taxes due in any jurisdiction that is in arrears; or 

 (3) Fraudulently or deceptively attempts to obtain a license. 

D. Within 10 business days of the Commission’s decision, the Commission shall 

notify an applicant who has been pre-approved for a license. 

E. The Commission may rescind pre-approval of a grower license if the grower is not 

operational within 1 year of pre-approval. 

.08 Change of Ownership of License. 

A. No interest of 5 percent or more of a license issued pursuant to this chapter shall 

be assignable or transferable unless: 

 (1) The Commission has received notice of the intent of the owner of the 

interest, or of the estate of the owner of the interest, to transfer or assign an 

interest in a license to another party; 

 (2) The transferee has had forwarded the criminal history record information 

and audited financial statement to the Commission of the transferee; 

 (3) The Commission does not object to the transfer or assignment within 45 

days of its receipt of notice; and 

 (4) The transferee has paid the required fee specified in COMAR 10.62.35. 

B. The Commission may deny transfer of an interest in a license for any proposed 

transferee if the: 

 (1) [Criminal history record information or the background investigation 

demonstrate an absence of good moral character; or] Transferee is convicted of or 

pleads nolo contendere to a crime involving moral turpitude, whether or not any 

appeal or other proceeding is pending to have the conviction or plea set aside; or 
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 (2) Payment of taxes due in any jurisdiction is in arrears. 

10.62.09.03 Medical Cannabis Grower Agent  

.03 Grower Agent Registration and Criminal History Record. 

A. Each medical cannabis grower agent shall be registered with the Commission 

before the agent may volunteer or work for a licensed grower. 

B. A licensed grower shall apply to register a grower agent by submitting to the 

Commission: 

 (1) The name, address, date of birth, and Social Security Number of a grower 

agent; 

 (2) Documentation of the submission of fingerprints of the grower agent to 

the Central Registry; and 

 (3) The request for the criminal history record information of the grower 

agent to be forwarded to the Commission. 

C. A prospective grower agent may not be registered if the prospective grower agent 

has ever been convicted of a felony drug offense, except as provided in Health-

General Article, §13-3306(5)(iii), Annotated Code of Maryland. 

D. The Commission, after review of the criminal history record information, may 

disqualify any prospective grower agent from registration [for an absence of good 

moral character] who is convicted of or pleads nolo contendere to a crime involving 

moral turpitude, whether or not any appeal or other proceeding is pending to have 

the conviction or plea set aside. 

10.62.19 Medical Cannabis Processor License  

.03 Consent for Investigation. 

A. An individual who is required to provide personal and background information 

under this chapter shall provide a statement that irrevocably gives consent to the 

Commission and persons authorized by the Commission to: 

 (1) Verify all information provided in the application documents; and 

 (2) Conduct a background investigation of the individual. 

B. An applicant shall waive any contractual, statutory, or common law obligation of 

confidentiality and authorize any government agency in any jurisdiction to release 

to and provide access to the Commission of any and all information the applicant 

has provided to any other jurisdiction while seeking a cannabis-related license in 

that other jurisdiction, as well as the information obtained by that other jurisdiction 
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during the course of any investigation it may have conducted regarding the 

applicant. 

C. An applicant shall release all financial institutions, fiduciaries and other parties 

from any contractual, statutory or common law obligation of confidentiality to 

provide financial, personal and background information to the Commission relevant 

to the applicant’s capacity to manage a licensed processor [and the applicant’s good 

moral character]. 

.05 Pre-Approval of License Application. 

A. The Commission shall pre-approve a number of licenses for licensed processors 

sufficient to supply the demand for medical cannabis concentrates and medical 

cannabis-infused products in a range of routes of administration desired by 

qualifying patients. 

B. If there are more qualified applications than the number of licenses available and 

there is a numerical tie for the last license to be issued, the last pre-approved 

license shall be determined by public lottery. 

C. The Commission may deny issuing a pre-approval of a license if, [for] any 

individual identified in the application specified in COMAR 10.62.19.02B(1) and (2) 

of this chapter: 

 (1) [The criminal history record information or any other evidence that 

demonstrates an absence of good moral character; or] Is convicted of or pleads nolo 

contendere to a felony or to a crime involving moral turpitude, whether or not any 

appeal or other proceeding is pending to have the conviction or plea set aside; 

 (2) [The] Has payment of taxes due in any jurisdiction that is in arrears; or 

 (3) Fraudulently or deceptively attempts to obtain a license. 

D. Within 10 business days of the Commission’s decision, the Commission shall 

notify applicants who have been pre-approved for a license. 

E. The Commission may rescind pre-approval of a processor license if the processor 

is not operational within 1 year of pre-approval. 

.06 Issuance of License. 

A. After an applicant has been issued a pre-approval for a license under this 

chapter, the applicant shall submit to the Commission, as part of its application: 

 (1) An audited financial statement for the applicant and for each individual, 

partnership, corporation, or other entity review that has invested, or is proposed to 

invest, 5 percent or more of the capital of the applicant; and 
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 (2) Payment of the stage 2 application fee specified in COMAR 10.62.35. 

B. The Commission may issue a license to be a licensed processor on a 

determination that: 

 (1) [The criminal history background check and background investigation 

reveal no evidence that demonstrates the absence of good moral character] The 

applicant has not been convicted of or pled nolo contendere to a crime involving 

moral turpitude, whether or not any appeal or other proceeding is pending to have 

the conviction or plea set aside; 

 (2) All inspections are passed and all of the applicant’s operations conform to 

the specifications of the application as pre-approved pursuant to Regulation .05 of 

this chapter; 

 (3) The proposed premises: 

  (a) Are under the legal control of the applicant; 

  (b) Comply with all zoning and planning requirements; and 

  (c) Conform to the specifications of the application as pre-approved 

pursuant to Regulation .07 of this chapter; and 

 (4) The first year’s license fee specified in COMAR 10.62.35 has been paid. 

.07 Change of Ownership of License. 

A. No interest of 5 percent or more of a license issued pursuant to this chapter shall 

be assignable or transferable unless: 

 (1) The Commission has received notice in a manner determined by the 

Commission of the intent of the owner of the interest, or of the estate of the owner of 

the interest, to transfer or assign an interest in a license to another party; 

 (2) The transferee has had forwarded the criminal history record information 

and audited financial statement to the Commission of the transferee; 

 (3) The Commission does not object to the transfer or assignment within 45 

days of its receipt of notice; and 

 (4) The transferee has paid the required fee specified in COMAR 10.62.35. 

B. The Commission may deny transfer of an interest in a license if, for any proposed 

transferee: 

 (1) [Criminal history record information or the background investigation 

demonstrate an absence of good moral character; or] The transferee is convicted of or 

THIS D
OCUMENT H

AS BEEN ARCHIVED



 

6 
 

pleads nolo contendere to a crime involving moral turpitude, whether or not any 

appeal or other proceeding is pending to have the conviction or plea set aside; or 

 (2) Payment of taxes due in any jurisdiction is in arrears. 

10.62.20 Medical Cannabis Processor Agent  

.03 Processor Agent Registration and Criminal History Record. 

A. A processor agent shall be registered with the Commission before the agent may 

volunteer or work for a licensee. 

B. A licensee shall apply to register a processor agent by submitting to the 

Commission: 

 (1) The name, address, date of birth and Social Security Number of a 

processor agent; 

 (2) Documentation of the submission of fingerprints of the processor agent to 

the Central Registry; and 

 (3) The request for the criminal history record information of the processor 

agent to be forwarded to the Commission. 

C. A prospective registered processor agent may not be registered if the prospective 

processor agent has ever been convicted of a felony drug offense, except as provided 

in Health-General Article, §13-3310(d), Annotated Code of Maryland. 

D. The Commission, after review of the criminal history record information, may 

disqualify any prospective grower agent from registration [for an absence of good 

moral character] who is convicted of or pleads nolo contendere to a crime involving 

moral turpitude, whether or not any appeal or other proceeding is pending to have 

the conviction or plea set aside. 

10.62.25 Medical Cannabis Dispensary License  

.04 Consent for Investigation. 

A. An individual who is required to provide personal and background information 

under this chapter shall provide a statement that irrevocably gives consent to the 

Commission and persons authorized by the Commission to: 

 (1) Verify all information provided in the application documents; and 

 (2) Conduct a background investigation of the individual. 

B. An applicant shall waive any contractual, statutory, or common law obligation of 

confidentiality and authorize any government agency in any jurisdiction to release 

to and provide access to the Commission of any and all information the applicant 
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has provided to any other jurisdiction while seeking a cannabis-related license in 

that other jurisdiction, as well as the information obtained by that other jurisdiction 

during the course of any investigation it may have conducted regarding the 

applicant. 

C. An applicant shall release all financial institutions, fiduciaries, and other parties 

from any contractual, statutory or common law obligation of confidentiality to 

provide financial, personal and background information to the Commission relevant 

to the applicant’s capacity to manage a licensed dispensary [and the applicant’s 

good moral character]. 

.06 Pre-Approval of License Application. 

A. Number of Pre-approvals. In consideration of the ranking of the applications in 

accordance with Regulation .05, the Commission may issue pre-approvals of up to 

two licensed dispensaries per Senatorial district, other than the number of licensed 

grower dispensary facilities located in the Senatorial district. 

B. If there are more qualified applications than the number of licenses available and 

there is a numerical tie for the last license to be issued, the last pre-approved 

license shall be determined by public lottery. 

C. The Commission may deny issuing a pre-approval of a license if, [for] any 

individual identified in the application specified in Regulation .02B(1) and (2) of this 

chapter: 

 (1) [The criminal history record information or any other evidence that 

demonstrates an absence of good moral character; or] Is convicted of or pleads nolo 

contendere to a crime involving moral turpitude, whether or not any appeal or other 

proceeding is pending to have the conviction or plea set aside; 

 (2) [The] Has payment of taxes due in any jurisdiction that is in arrears; or 

 (3) Fraudulently or deceptively attempts to obtain a license. 

D. Within 10 business days of the Commission’s decision, the Commission shall 

notify applicants who have been pre-approved for a license. 

E. The Commission may rescind pre-approval of a dispensary license if the 

dispensary is not operational within 1 year of pre-approval. 

.07 Issuance of License. 

A. After an applicant has been issued a pre-approval for a license under this chapter 

the applicant shall submit to the Commission, as part of its application: 
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 (1) An audited financial statement for the applicant and for each individual, 

partnership, corporation, or other entity review that has invested, or is proposed to 

invest, 5 percent or more of the capital of the applicant; 

 (2) Payment of the stage 2 application fee specified in COMAR 10.62.35. 

B. The Commission may issue a dispensary license on a determination that: 

 (1) [The criminal history background check and background investigation 

reveal no evidence that demonstrates the absence of good moral character] The 

applicant has not been convicted of or pled nolo contendere to a crime involving 

moral turpitude, whether or not any appeal or other proceeding is pending to have 

the conviction or plea set aside;  

 (2) All inspections are passed and all of the applicant’s operations conform to 

the specifications of the application as pre-approved pursuant to Regulation .06 of 

this chapter; 

 (3) The proposed premises: 

  (a) Are under the legal control of the applicant; 

  (b) Comply with all zoning and planning requirements; and 

  (c) Conform to the specifications of the application as pre-approved 

pursuant to Regulation .07 of this chapter; and 

 (4) The first year’s license fee specified in COMAR 10.62.35 has been paid. 

.08 Change of Ownership of License. 

A. No interest of 5 percent or more of a license issued pursuant to this chapter shall 

be assignable or transferable unless: 

 (1) The Commission has received notice of the intent of the owner of the 

interest, or of the estate of the owner of the interest, to transfer or assign an 

interest in a license to another party; 

 (2) The transferee has had forwarded the criminal history record information 

and audited financial statement to the Commission of the transferee; 

 (3) The Commission does not object to the transfer or assignment within 45 

days of its receipt of notice; and 

 (4) The transferee has paid the required fee specified in COMAR 10.62.35. 

B. The Commission may deny transfer of an interest in a license if, for any proposed 

transferee: 
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 (1) [Criminal history record information or the background investigation 

demonstrate an absence of good moral character; or] The transferee is convicted of or 

pleads nolo contendere to a crime involving moral turpitude, whether or not any 

appeal or other proceeding is pending to have the conviction or plea set aside; or 

 (2) Payment of taxes due in any jurisdiction is in arrears. 

10.62.26 Registered Dispensary Agent  

.03 Dispensary Agent Registration and Criminal History Record. 

A. A dispensary agent shall be registered with the Commission before the agent 

may volunteer or work for a licensee. 

B. A licensee shall apply to register a dispensary agent by submitting to the 

Commission: 

 (1) The name, address, date of birth and Social Security Number of a 

dispensary agent; 

 (2) Documentation of the submission of fingerprints of the dispensary agent 

to the Central Registry; and 

 (3) The request for the criminal history record information of the dispensary 

agent to be forwarded to the Commission. 

C. A prospective registered dispensary agent may not be registered by the 

Commission if the prospective registered dispensary agent has ever been convicted 

of a felony drug offense, except as provided in Health-General Article, §13-3308(d), 

Annotated Code of Maryland. 

D. The Commission, after review of the criminal history record information, may 

disqualify any prospective registered dispensary agent from registration [for an 

absence of good moral character] who is convicted of or pleads nolo contendere to a 

crime involving moral turpitude, whether or not any appeal or other proceeding is 

pending to have the conviction or plea set aside. 
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