

The following guidance is provided by the Maryland Cannabis Administration (MCA) to assist cannabis licensees comply with State laws and regulations governing the cannabis industry. This document is not legal advice. It is meant to highlight operational changes for **licensed processors**. Please consult an attorney if you have any questions regarding the legal requirements that apply.

## **Highlighted Updates**

Recent updates to statute make certain changes for processor licensees effective April 25, 2024, including but not limited to the following:

• A micro processor may process up to 2,000 pounds of cannabis per year. (Md. Code Ann., Alcoholic Beverages and Cannabis § 36-401(c)(2))

Effective June 7, 2024, regulations under COMAR 14.17 replace existing medical program regulations under COMAR 10.62. Additionally, recent updates to regulations make certain changes for processor licensees. Except as otherwise specified, the following changes take effect immediately:

- As of July 1, 2024, growers, processors, and labs must notify MCA within 24 hours of learning that a batch does not meet specifications. Note: This requirement will be satisfied providing a laboratory timely reports failed test results via METRC as required in the MCA's Technical Authority.
- If a licensee identifies a discrepancy between the inventory of stock and the seed-to-sale tracking system outside or normal weight loss, they must begin an investigation of the discrepancy within 1 business day. If a discrepancy is not resolved within 30 days, the licensee must report the discrepancy to MCA. As of July 1, 2024, failure to report an unresolved discrepancy may be used as evidence of diversion. Note: This clarifies the discrepancy reporting provisions in COMAR 14.17.11.18A.
- Visitors to any operational areas of the premises must be continually, physically supervised at all times while on the premises. Video surveillance does not suffice for meeting supervision requirements. For growers and processors, individuals who are on the premises for the narrow purposes of package delivery, or other services that do not involve areas of the premises used for cannabis cultivation or processing are exempted from this requirement.

# **Products**

#### **Liquid Edibles**

For the purposes of producing a liquid edible product, one single container is a single serving of product, and it may not contain more than 10 milligrams (mg) of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). Liquid edibles must also comply with the requirements for other edible products in terms of production, packaging, and labeling. This includes limiting the manufacture of these products to facilities with a valid edibles permit.

Version 4 - this document was updated on June 7th, 2024 and is current with the MCA's guidance, regulation, and compliance efforts. The MCA reserves the ability to alter guidance to align the State's cannabis program with Maryland law and policy.

### **Product Reservations**

The following products may only be sold to qualifying patients and registered caregivers:

- Concentrated cannabis products with a total product weight greater than 1 gram
- Edible cannabis products, capsules, and tinctures containing more than 10 mg THC per serving or 100 mg THC per package

### Adult use consumers may purchase:

- Cannabis vaporizing devices (e.g., vapes)
- Concentrated cannabis products with a total weight of 1 gram or less
- Infused pre-rolls of any product weight
- Infused non-edible cannabis products
- Home cultivation products
- Usable cannabis products (e.g., flower, pre-rolls)
- Edible cannabis products, capsules, and tinctures containing up to 10 mg THC per serving or 100 mg of THC per package

#### **Hemp**

Hemp-derived products containing more than 0.5 mg THC per serving or 2.5 mg THC per package may only be sold by licensed dispensaries if they have been manufactured, processed, and tested in accordance with MCA regulations. (Note: THC includes any THC isomers or derivatives, including delta-8 and delta-10). These products may only be displayed or offered for sale in the restricted area of a dispensary. Licensed processors may obtain hemp and hemp-derived products from registered hemp growers.

## Prior regulations recodified with non-substantive changes

- COMAR 10.62.21 Processor Premises → COMAR 14.17.11.02
- COMAR 10.62.22 Processor Operations → COMAR 14.17.11.03
- COMAR 10.62.23 Concentrates and Infused Products → COMAR 14.17.11.04 and 14.17.08.05
- COMAR 10.62.37 Edible Cannabis Products → COMAR 14.17.11.05–.14

### **Questions?**

Visit <u>cannabis.maryland.gov</u> or use the <u>MCA Policy Question Intake form</u> to submit policy questions related to cannabis regulations, legislation, issued guidance, or licensing. MCA will review submissions and publish an updated FAQ document on the <u>Laws & Regulations</u> page on the first day of each month.