

Larry Hogan, Governor • Boyd Rutherford, Lt. Governor • Robert R. Neall, Secretary

BULLETIN 2019 – 003

Effective Date: XX, 2019

Requirement for Pre-Approved Applicants to become operational

The Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission (the "Commission") is issuing this bulletin to inform all medical cannabis businesses of the legal requirements for licensing, and the timeline for businesses to be (1) awarded a license and (2) actively engaged in the cultivation, processing, or dispensing of medical cannabis (e.g., operational). Maryland law requires that any business awarded a Stage One Pre-Approval to grow, process, or dispense medical cannabis must be licensed and operational within 12 months of receiving the award. The Commission may rescind the Stage One Pre-Approval of any applicant who is not licensed and operational after 12 months (*See* Health-General Article, §13-3311.1; COMAR 10.62.08.06; COMAR 10.62.19.05; and COMAR 10.62.25.06).

Pursuant to this authority, the Commission intends to rescind the Stage One Pre-Approval of any medical cannabis business issued an award prior to 2018, that is not licensed and operational by August 31, 2019. A request for an extension beyond August 31, 2019, will only be considered due to an unforeseen hardship outside of the business's control. Any entity receiving an extension must be licensed and operational on or before December 31, 2019.

In addition, the Commission may revoke the license of any licensee issued an award prior to 2018 that is not actively engaged in cultivating, processing, or dispensing medical cannabis according to the respective license by August 31, 2019.

Medical cannabis businesses should account for the significant preparation time necessary following the award of a license in order to become operational. As such, it is recommended that all businesses complete the final inspection on or before July 15, 2019. For additional information, please see the Commission's April 26, 2018 bulletin titled "Licensee Guidance for Processing Agent Identification Cards."

The Commission does not intend to offer additional pre-approvals for dispensaries at this time.

This bulletin does not change, remove, or replace any existing regulations under COMAR 10.62.

Joy A. Strand MHA

Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission