Natalie M. LaPrade

Maryland Medical Cannabis Commission

Patient Identification Card Requirement

Resource to assist dispensary agents with understanding and complying with Maryland Medical Cannabis sales laws



Overview

As of April 1, 2019, all Maryland medical cannabis patients must present an MMCCissued ID card in order to purchase medical cannabis.

Expiration date extended to 3 years for MMCC ID cards issued after January 1, 2019









REMEMBER:

No sales to minors. Caregiver must make purchases for minors.





Program Summary

Starting January 1, 2019:

All new patients must pay \$50 for a MMCC ID card at registration. (Expires in 3 years!)

Starting March 1, 2019:

All existing patients may:

1. RENEW their application and purchase a MMCC ID card for \$50 (Expires in 3 years!);

2. ORDER (without renewing) a MMCC ID card for a \$50 fee, which will expire on the patient's EXISTING registration expiration date.

Starting April 1, 2019:

or

All Acensed Maryland dispensaries MUST require EVERYONE to present an MMCC-issued ID card in order to purchase medical cannabis.



Program Summary

MMCC ID cards issued before January 1, 2019 will expire on the expiration date listed on the card.

After MMCC ID card is **renewed**, a **3 year card** will go into effect.

Once an MMCC ID card is ordered or MMCC registration application is renewed, a patient will have the option to print a <u>temporary ID card</u>, which is <u>valid for 90 days</u>. This temporary ID card is valid without a second form of government-issued identification.





What does this mean for brand new patients?

- 1) Complete and submit the online application on the MMCC Registry webpage (\$50 registration fee will be required when application is submitted).
- 2) Obtain certification from a provider registered with MMCC.
- 3) MMCC ID cards will be automatically mailed to the patient *once they receive their certification from their provider*.

Note: New patient registrations will expire 3 years from the registration date.

Exception:

Minor patients, and hospice patients who provide acceptable proof of hospice care, are required to have MMCC ID cards, but the \$50 fee may be waived.



What does this mean for existing patients WITH an MMCC ID?

- 1) Patients with a MMCC ID card can continue to use the MMCC ID card until it expires. The expiration date is located on the front of the MMCC ID card.
- ✓ Beginning April 1, 2019, a MMCC ID card will be required for purchase at all licensed Maryland dispensaries.

What does this mean for existing patients who do NOT have an MMCC ID card?

If you are a registered patient and you <u>do NOT</u> have a ID card, you have **two options**:

- Submit a renewal application to MMCC (\$50 fee). The renewal registration will expire 3 years from the date of renewal. Beginning March 1, 2019, any patient may submit a renewal application;
 - Or

2) /Order a MMCC ID card (\$50 fee). This card will expire on the date your current registration expires.



How to Renew MMCC Registration:

- 1) Log into your existing MMCC account.
- 2) Click on the Renew Registration tab.
- 3) You will be prompted to answer a number of questions. (If your address has changed, you must update your address and you will be required to upload a current Proof of Maryland Address.)
- 4) Once the Commission has your renewal application, they will review it and notify you via email of approval.

How do I order an ID card without renewing?

- Log/into your MMCC account.
- 2. Click on the "Order ID Card" tab.
- 3. Your MMCC ID card will expire on the date of your <u>current</u> registration.



How long until I receive my MMCC ID card?

Due to the anticipated high volume of MMCC ID card orders and registration renewals, the MMCC is unable to guarantee a delivery date for the card.

A temporary ID will be **<u>emailed</u>** once a new patient has been certified,

or an existing patient with a valid provider certification orders a card or renews their registration.

This temporary ID will be valid for 90 days.

Each patient will also have the option to print the temporary ID when logging into their MMCC account.

Temporary cards printed after January 1, 2019 will display a photo, therefore a second form of Government identification is not required.



Resources

- Link to: Patient ID Card Requirement Handout
- Link to: <u>MMCC Patient Identification Card Requirement</u>

