Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Marijuana Commission March 24, 2015 Meeting Baltimore County Agriculture Center, Cockeysville, Maryland 2:00 pm

MINUTES

Commissioners Present:

Paul W. Davies, Chair
Harry (Buddy) Robshaw, III, Vice-Chair
William C. Charles
John T. Gontrum
Robert A. Lavin
Shawn P. McNamara
Deborah R. Miran
Cristina Gouin-Paul
Nancy Rosen-Cohen
Eric E. Sterling
Jon Traunfeld

Commissioner Present By Telephone:

Michael A. Horberg

Staff

Hannah Lee Byron, Executive Director Mary-jo Mather, MMC Kristen Neville, Policy and Regulations Erin Purdy, Office of the Attorney General

Absent

Dario J. Broccolino Kevin W. Chen Allison Taylor

CALL TO ORDER

Chair Paul Davies called the meeting of the Natalie M. LaPrade Medical Marijuana Commission to order at 2:00 pm.

APPROVAL OF THE MINUTES

Chair Davies requested a motion to approve the January 27, 2015 meeting minutes. Commissioner Robshaw made the motion, which was seconded by Commissioner Rosen-Cohen. The January 27, 2015 minutes were approved unanimously by voice vote.

CHAIRMAN'S REPORT: Paul Davies

Chair Davies welcomed the attendees and thanked the Agriculture Center for their assistance. He stated that the meeting was being streamed, and asked the public commenters to limit their remarks to three minutes. Chair Davies extended a welcome to new Commissioner John Gontrum, who will be representing Comptroller Franchot's office, and expressed his thanks to departing Commissioner Andy Schaufele for his past work on the Commission. Chair Davies stated that after publication of the proposed regulations in the *Maryland Register*, the Commission received fifty-seven formal comments, which were carefully reviewed and resulted in revisions to the January 23rd draft regulations. He also noted that several related legislative proposals, including House Bill 490, introduced by Delegates Morhaim and Glenn, were introduced in the 2015 Session, and that additional changes to the draft regulations were made to anticipate passage of House Bill 490. Chair Davies stated that the Commission is looking forward to operationalizing the Medical Marijuana Program.

Jessica J. Armacost, Maryland Department of Agriculture, Office of Secretary Joe Bartenfelder

Chair Davies welcomed Jessica Armacost, a representative of Secretary Joe Bartenfelder, Maryland Department of Agriculture. Ms. Armacost reported that Secretary Bartenfelder had asked her to personally convey his interest in the Commission's work, and had requested that he be kept apprised of the Commission's ongoing efforts.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT: Hannah Byron

Ms. Byron thanked Ms. Armacost for her comments, and also extended thanks to the Executive Committee and Policy Committee members for their dedication, experience and commitment since taking the position of Executive Director in January 2015. She also expressed thanks to Allison Taylor of the Office of the Secretary, the Commission's Assistant Attorney General, Erin Purdy, as well as for the support received from the Administration and Secretary Mitchell. Ms. Byron introduced the newest member of the Commission staff, Mary-jo Mather, and stated that additional new staff would be hired to assist with the forthcoming registries, licensing and compliance functions. Ms. Byron also stated that a communications team would be hired to assist in populating the Medical Marijuana Commission website and creating the FAQs and overall media and public relations needs. An independent evaluation review team will also be brought on to assist in the review of the grower, processor and dispensary applications. She also stated that the FY2016 Budget includes funding for Commission operations. Ms. Byron provided an update as to the status of House Bill 490, emergency legislation, which passed out the House of Delegates, 129 to 10, and will be considered by the Senate. Ms. Byron concluded by thanking Commissioner Eric Sterling, who would provide a brief summary of the changes in the newest draft of the proposed regulations dated March 20, 2015.

COMMITTEE CHAIR REPORTS:

Executive Committee/Policy Committee: Eric Sterling

Commissioner Sterling thanked Ms. Byron and Ms. Mather for their efforts in putting together the new March 20th draft regulations, and noted that the Commission attempted to take into account many of the excellent suggestions from the public comments, as well as consideration of amendments which may pass in the General Assembly, which are all incorporated into the March 20th draft regulations posted on the Medical Marijuana Commission website. Mr. Sterling noted changes to definitions of "30-day supply", physician registration, elimination of physician reporting requirements, creation of licensing for processors of concentrates and medical Cannabis-infused products, changes to licensing initial terms, change of ownership, licensed premises, independent testing laboratories, dispensary licensing requirements, elimination of a dispensary requirement for a licensed clinical director, application requirements, delivery of medical Cannabis to patients in the home or home-bound patients. House Bill 490 would eliminate academic medical center programs from the medical Cannabis program. Mr. Sterling listed proposed amendments in House Bill 490 which had not been included in the new draft regulations.

Education Committee: Deborah Miran

Commissioner Miran stated that Med Chi had offered a recent workshop on Medical Marijuana which offered continuing education credits for physicians, and included a presentation given by Commissioner Sterling. She reported attendance by approximately 100, and that interested parties might consider attending the Americans for Safe Access Conference in Washington, DC taking place on March 27-31, 2015. She mentioned the Patients Out of Time Conference in Palm Beach, Florida in May. Ms. Miran added that Commissioner Chris Charles recently presented a talk to the Pharmacy Society, and that the slides and notes from this talk were posted on the MMC website. She added that the Education Committee would be working with FDA representatives to share wisdom in the upcoming months. Commissioner Miran concluded by mentioning that Anne Arundel Community College is offering a course on the Science of Cannabis Growing, which currently has twenty seven students enrolled.

Public Comments

Chair Davies invited those who had signed up to speak to come to the podium. Comments were verbally presented by Peter Unger, CEO of the American Association for Laboratory Accreditation; Gail Rand of Stop the Seizures; Gary Nusinov; Tenzin Tashi,; Darren Braude of Bluestone Benefits LLC (dba Blue Kamen Benefits) and Terrapin Health Center; Debra Kimless of Bayside Group MD LLC; and Hunter Holliman, Americans for Safe Access.

Adjournment

Chair Davies thanked the public commenters for their statements, and asked if there were any further reports or other discussion. He thanked Paula Hollinger for attending the meeting and for her work on the Medical Marijuana Program, and also thanked the Commission staff for their work. Ms. Byron stated that due to a technical problem with the streaming technology that a summary would be posted on the website. Chair Davies asked for a motion to adjourn, which was introduced and seconded, and the meeting adjourned at 2:53 pm.